February 3, 2023
Madea Movies in Order
Spread the love

The Madea movie series tells the tales from the life of the hilarious fictional character named Mabel ‘Madea’ Earlene Simmons who is an African American Lady. The on-screen character is played by Tyler Perry, she became a self-made millionaire from the Madea movie franchise. Madea movies in order consists of 12 parts. Earlier we have discussed about Jesse Stone Movies in Order, now read on to know more about each part of Medea movie. 

Diary of a Mad Black Woman (2005)

Released in 2005, Diary of a Mad Black Woman is a romantic comedy movie written by Tyler Perry. Directed by Darren Grant, the film features Tyler Perry, Kimberly Elise, Shemar Moore, Cicely Tyson, Steve Harris and others. 

Diary of a Mad Black Woman starts with a couple Charles McCarter and Helen living a happy life. However, Charles on their 18th wedding anniversary asks for a divorce. After separation Helen moves into her grandmother Madea’s house. She helps her overcome and explains the true meaning of life to her. Soon Helen gets into a happy and healthy relationship with Orlando. 

Madea’s Family Reunion (2006)

Sequel to Dairy of a Mad Black Woman, Madea’s Family Reunion is written and directed by Tyler Perry. The star cast includes Tyler Perry, Blair Underwood, Boris Kodjoe, Maya Angelou, Jennifer Lewis, Lynn Whitefield, etc. 

Madea violated the terms of house arrest to help Helen and so the judge gave her two options. Either to go to jail or to look after her girl, Nikki, who has a bad attitude. Initially, Nikki caused troubles for Madea, however, develops a relationship over time. Nikki starts working to improve her life. Meanwhile, Lisa’s mother forces her to marry Carlos Armstrong. Lisa is Madea’s niece. 

Meet the Browns (2008)

The third part of the Madea Movies in Order is Meet the Browns. Released in 2008, it is written and directed by Tyler Perry. It features Angela, Bassette, Margaret Avery, Rick Fox, Frankie Faison, Jennifer Lewis, Tyler Perry, Tamela Mann, and others. 

This part majorly revolves around the lives of Brenda Brown and Davis. Brenda takes her three children to Georgia to attend her father’s funeral. Madea only has a cameo in this part. 

Madea Goes to Jail (2009)

Released in 2009, Madea Goes to Jail is written and directed by Tyler Perry. Tyler Perry,  Derek Luke, Ion Overman, Sofia Vergara,  Viola Davis and others play the lead characters in the movie.

In the movie, police arrests Madea after chasing her and suspending her driving license. Upon returning home,  she finds that a party is thrown up by her brother to cheer her up. But after destroying the car of the wife of a police officer, she is taken to court. There she is sentenced to jail. 

I can do bad all by Myself (2009)

Next on the list of Madea Movies in Order is I can do bad all by Myself, it is directed by Tyler Perry. The star cast includes Tyler Perry, Taraji P Henson, Brain White, Adam Rodriguez, Marvin L Winans and Gladys Knight. This is the fifth of Madea Cinematic Universe. 

Jennifer, Byron and Manny are robbing Madea’s house and she catches them. She askes them about their family and gets to know they have an Aunt, who is a nightclub worker. After feeding, she takes them to Aunt April. Initially, she refused to recognize them since she is dependent on alcohol but later takes the responsibility. 

Madea’s Big Happy Family (2011)

2011 released, Madea’s Big Happy Family is a comedy movie directed by Tyler Perry. Tyler Perry, David Mann, Tamela Mann, Cassi Davis, Lauren London, Loretta, Devine, etc are the lead actors of the movie. 

Madea’s niece Shirley is in poor health and she wants her family to be with her so that she can recover. But, her three children are busy in their own lives. Madea gets to know about this and plans to unite the family along with Aunt Bam to help Shirley recover. 

Madea’s Witness Protection (2012)

The film starring Tyler Perry, Eugene Levy, Doris Roberts, Tom Arnold, Denise Richards, Romeo Miller, Marla Gibbs and John Amos is the seventh of Madea Movies in Order. It was released in 2012 and is written and directed by Tyler Perry. 

CFO of Wall Street Investment Bank, George Needleman is Madea’s nephew. One day he learns that her company is accused of laundering. He starts getting death threats, he informs the police about the same. He is now at Madea’s house under witness protection in Atlanta. 

A Madea Christmas (2013)

2013 comedy film, A Madea Christmas, is next and eighth on the list of Madea Movies in Order. It stars Tyler Perry, Kathy Najimy, Anna Horsford, Tika Sumpter, Chad Murray, Eric Lively, J R Lemon, Lary The Cable Guy and others playing the lead roles. 

Madea’s great niece’s daughter is a teacher and wants to celebrate Christmas Jubilee in her school. But due to a shortage of funds, Lacey is forced to ask for funds from Oliver, her ex-boyfriend. Unaware of Lacey’s Marriage, Eileen brings Madea and Oliver with her. 

Boo! A Madea Halloween (2016)

Boo! A Madea Halloween released in 2016, it is written and directed by Tyler Perry. It features Tyler Perry, Cassy Davis, Yousef Erakat, Andre Hall, Patrice Lovely, Diamond White, Liza Koshy, etc in the leading roles. 

The ninth in the list of Madea Movies in Order is Boo! A Madea Halloween. The movie revolves around Jonathan and his brothers who organize a Halloween party. They invite Tiffany and her friends. Later, Tiffany plans a ghost story to fool adults in the house. 

Boo 2! A Madea Halloween (2017)

2017 comedy horror movie, Boo 2! A Madea Halloween is the next Madea Movies in Order. Written and directed by Tyler Perry, it features Patrice Lovely, Cassi Davis, Diamond White, Yousef Erakat, Andre Hall, etc in lead roles. 

Tiffany on her 18th birthday receives her dream car from Debrah. She gets to know about the Halloween party at Lake Derrick. She along with her friend drives recklessly to reach there. While Brian finds that Madea, Bam, Joe and Hattie are waiting at home to give her a surprise.

A Madea Family Funeral (2019)

Written, produced and directed by Tyler Perry, A Madea Family Funeral is the eleventh of Madea Movies in Order. It stars Tyler Perry, Cassi Davis and Patrice Lovely in lead roles. 

On the 40th anniversary of Anthony and Vienna, their children organize a party. They call Madea, Bam, Brain, Joe and Hattie. However, Anthony is found having sex with Renne, Vienna’s best friend. But because of sex, he suffers a heart attack and is declared dead. Although the reason for death is kept secret, however, his son blames Renee for his death. 

The 12th part on the list of Madea Movies in Order is A Madea Homecoming. As of now, the release is scheduled for 2022. It will be great to see how Tyler Perry keeps her audience engaged. 

Leave Your Thoughts